What is the cost for a birth certificate?
The cost for a birth certificate is $20 regardless of the quantity that you order. This fee is established in accordance with Pennsylvania's Administrative Code of 1929. Payment is deposited upon receipt of your application and is not refundable.

If ordering online, you must also pay a $10 service fee and applicable delivery fees if selecting UPS overnight shipping. Fees are non-refundable. Payment may be made by credit card if ordering online or by telephone. If applying in person or by mail, please submit payment in the form of a check or money order made payable to "VITAL RECORDS". Cash is not accepted.

To qualify for the fee waiver for members of the U.S. Armed Forces, you or your spouse (includes widow/widower if not remarried) must be in active service or was honorably discharged from service. The fee is only waived if you are applying for your birth certificate, your spouse's birth certificate or the birth certificate of a dependent child. Please provide supporting documentation if applying for the fee waiver for a dependent child over 18 years of age. This fee waiver only covers the cost of the birth certificate. The fee waiver does not apply to the online service fees or UPS delivery fees.

How do I get a Report of Live Birth?
The Report of Live Birth is often referred to as the original birth certificate. This is the original report filed with the Department of Health regarding an individual's birth. In accordance with the Vital Statistics Law of 1953, this document is not classified as a public document until 105 years after the individual's birth. As such, this document is not available for disclosure under Pennsylvania's Right-to-Know Law.

Pennsylvania's statewide vital records program began in 1906. Once a Report of Live Birth has reached maturity (at 105 years of age), the record becomes available through the Pennsylvania State Archives.

Where can I get more information?
If you have questions about Pennsylvania birth certificates, contact the Division of Vital Records using one of the following methods:

Call 724-656-3100 or toll-free at 844-228-3516, Mondays through Fridays 7:15 am to 10:00 pm.